Steve Womack McKay signing Wweb

Steven Womack Keeps Mystery Alive with ‘Resurrection Bay’

June 15, 2014

Resurrection Bay  coverWatkins Professor Steven Womack, a member of the Film School faculty since 1995 and an award-winning mystery writer, will see his eleventh novel, the suspense-thriller Resurrection Bay, published June 8 by Midnight Ink Books.

Resurrection Bay is inspired by the real-life case of serial killer Robert Hansen who, in the 1970s through the early 80s, murdered as many as 21 women around Anchorage, Alaska. The novel is a collaboration between Womack and Wayne McDaniel, whose original screenplay was the basis of the project.

Per Midnight Ink Books:

From Edgar Award-winning author Steven Womack and Wayne McDaniel comes a force of evil on par with Hannibal Lecter in a heart-pounding page-turner you can’t put down.

Decatur Kaiser seems like an ordinary family man with a passion for hunting and a wall full of trophies to prove it. Every June, Decatur sends his wife and kids to visit the grandparents so he can start his summer project.

Fueled by cocaine and a complete disregard for human life, Decatur kidnaps a young woman and flies to a deserted island in the middle of Resurrection Bay. There he abuses and tortures her, then turns his victim loose and hunts her like big game through the Alaskan wilderness.

Summer after summer, Decatur collects his trophies.

Inspired by the real-life story of Alaska’s most famous serial killer, Resurrection Bay is a classic study of evil: where it comes from, how it operates, and what it takes to bring it down.

Two author signings are scheduled locally: Tuesday, June 17, 6:30 p.m at Parnassus Books and Thursday, June 26, 7 p.m., at the Barnes & Noble in Cool Springs.

More information on Resurrection Bay is available via Amazon and Facebook  and at www.stevenwomack.com.

About the Author
A native of Nashville, Steve Womack is a graduate of Western Reserve Academy and Tulane University, where an unpublished novel of his was the first novel ever accepted as an undergraduate honors thesis. He also holds an M.F.A. from the Southampton College writing program.

Six of his 10 novels have received national recognition, including the highest award presented to writers in the field of mystery and crime fiction. Womack’s third book, Dead Folks’ Blues, was presented the 1994 Edgar Allan Poe Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Mystery Writers of America. The novel featured bumbling ex-newspaperman turned private detective Harry James Denton and was called by the Virginia Pilot And Ledger Star a “virtuoso performance.”

Murder Manual, the fifth installment in the series, was published by Ballantine Books in 1998 and was accorded nominations in the “Triple Crown” of mystery. The novel was nominated for the 1999 Edgar Allan Poe Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Mystery Writers of America. Murder Manual was awarded the 1999 Shamus Award as Best Paperback Original by the Private Eye Writers of America. The book was also nominated for The Anthony Award, given by members of Bouchercon, The World Mystery Convention.

Steve Womack headshotDirty Money, the sixth installment in the award-winning Harry James Denton series, was published in 2000 by Fawcett Books and was called “irresistible” by the New York Times. The book was also nominated for the Shamus Award as Best Original Paperback Novel by the Private Eye Writers of America.

The second Harry James Denton mystery, Torch Town Boogie (1993), was also nominated for the Shamus Award, as was the third installment in the Denton series, Way Past Dead (1995). The New York Times called Way Past Dead “a real hoot,” and added that “Harry has something that cuts him apart from the rest of the herd.”

The fourth installment in the series, Chain Of Fools (1996), was nominated for both the Shamus and Anthony Awards. The Harry James Denton novels have been published in Japan, Germany, France, and the United Kingdom.

Womack is also the author of the Jack Lynch books, a trilogy featuring public relations executive/spinmeister Jack Lynch. The first in that series of novels, Murphy’s Fault was called by The New York Times “tough and articulate” in naming the book to its 1990 annual List of Notable Books as one of the top novels of the year, the only first crime novel on that year’s list.

Publishers Weekly called Murphy’s Fault, “a welcome addition to the genre.” First published in hardcover by St. Martin’s Press, the novel was also published in paperback in 1991. Completing the Jack Lynch saga were Smash Cut (1991) and The Software Bomb (1993).

In addition to writing, Womack is a professor of screenwriting at the Film School of Watkins College of Art, Design & Film, where he previously served a five-year term as Chair. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Screenwriting Association, has been a Regional Vice-President of the Mystery Writers of America and for several years led a fiction writing workshop at the Tennessee State Prison. He currently serves on the Board of Governors of the Mid-South regional chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Womack co-wrote the screenplay for Proudheart, an original made-for-cable movie which premiered in August 1993 on The Nashville Network and was nominated for a CableAce Award. He also co-wrote the ABC-TV film Volcano: Fire On The Mountain, which first aired in February 1997 and was one of the highest-rated TV movies of the year.

Womack is a former president of Novelists, Inc., an organization of multi-published professional novelists. He is still a member of Novelists, Inc. as well as The Writers Guild of America, East. A frequent speaker, Womack regularly appears on writers’ panels and at book fairs, including the Southern Book Festival, the North Carolina Literary Festival, the Kentucky Book Fair, the Southeast Writers Association and Bouchercon, The World Mystery Convention.