Board Chair Sam Stumpf presiding over the ceremony

Inauguration of Dr. J. Kline: Recap

May 23, 2016

Inaugural festivities celebrating Dr. J. Kline as the 16th president of Watkins were held on Friday, May 13 — the day before Commencement 2016 — in a 4 p.m. ceremony on campus attended by faculty, staff, students, alumni, academic colleagues, and friends from Nashville government and cultural organizations.

President J. Kline and Mayor Megan Barry

President J. Kline and Mayor Megan Barry

We were most honored to welcome Nashville Mayor Megan Barry, and in appreciation for her support of the arts, she was presented with an artists’ book created for this occasion, featuring contributions from 43 artists, including students, alumni, faculty, adjuncts and staff. The original work included paintings, drawings, collages, printmaking and photography. Many pages offered a unique, artistic perspective on Nashville locations, and there were even a few pages featuring the Mayor herself!

Noted bookbinder Katie Gonzalez of linenlaidfelt, a Watkins teaching artist, bound the pages to create a one-of-a-kind reminder of the incredible visual arts talent studying and teaching at Watkins.

Read the order of events: Dr. Kline Inauguration program 5.13.16

Special thanks to Graphic Design junior Noelle Grimes for designing the Inauguration invitation and program

Dr. J. Kline, Sam Stumpf and Mayor Megan Barry, before the processional
Board member Reggie Hill, Commissioner Brownlee O. Currey, Jr., Trustee emeritus Ward DeWitt and [back to camera] board member Larry Papel
Board member Waddell Wright, ready to march
Faculty Senate President Steve Wilkison, carrying the mace and leading the academic procession
Watkins faculty members
Faculty Senate President Steve Wilkison, representing the faculty
Vice President for Academic Affairs Joy McKenzie, representing staff
Photography junior Haley Nicole Carter, representing students
Alumna Lee Ann Hawkins, ’06, representing alumni
Commissioner Currey, representing the board and commissioners
Sam Stumpf presents an artists’ book to Mayor Barry
Mayor Megan Barry
Sam Stumpf presents the mace to Dr. Kline
Dr. J. Kline, 16th president of Watkins
Sam Stumpf, Mayor Barry, President Kline
Silver Strings provided music for the ceremony and reception
Board member Pam Thomas, Financial Aid’s Regina Gilbert
Mayor Barry, President Kline, TICUA President Dr. Claude O. Pressnell, Jr.
Commissioner Susan Basham, board member Robert Hebert, Joy McKenzie, board member Anna Jaap
Larry Papel, Hatch Show Print’s Jim Sherraden, Allen DeCuyper, Hatch’s Celene Aubry
Faculty members Robin Paris and Tom Williams, OZ Arts Nashville’s Lauren Snelling
Valerie Kyle, Dr. J. Kline
OZ’s Tim Ozgener, Commissioner Walter Knestrick, Elizabeth Papel, board member Samantha Saturn
Allen DeCuyper, board members Steve Sirls, Judge Carol McCoy, Reggie Hill and Jim Kelley
Faculty family!

(photo credit: Susan Adcock)