Yanet Mireles: Gold Award and Judge’s Choice

Graphic Design Students Earn Praise and Prizes from ADDYs and Graphis

February 26, 2016

Graphic Design students’ work in the classroom is reaching a wider audience: their talents have been recognized recently at two high-profile competitions. In a seven-school competition field at the 2016 AAF–Nashville Student ADDY Awards, Watkins graphic design students won 10 Gold Awards, nine Silvers, and one Judge’s Choice Award.

This year’s competition attracted almost 300 entries from Middle Tennessee, making it one of the largest student advertising competitions in the nation. These individual accomplishments are a testament to the strength of Watkins’ BFA program: 12 of the 20 Watkins students who entered the district ADDYs were juried into the competition, resulting in 20 total awards.

The school was well represented during the ceremonies, which were held at Play Dance Bar on February 23. “I’m blown away with the overall quality of student work emanating from our neck of the woods,” said department chair Dan Brawner. “The future looks bright and creative!

And, for the second year in a row, students of Watkins’ graphic design program have been juried into the prestigious Graphis New Talent Annual.  New York City-based Graphis Inc. is an international publisher of books on communication design; each year Graphis presents and promotes the best submitted work in graphic design, advertising, photography and art/illustration. Going up against some of the largest programs in the country, Watkins won an impressive 10 awards in their 2016 edition.

ADDYs 2016: (front, l to r) Professor Dan Brawner, Bobby Schindel, Christopher Adams, Yanet Mireles, alumnus Marty Potts, Jessi Knight, Grace Pavlic, (back row) Sara Schork, Steve Wilkison, Sean Walton, Noelle Grimes, Angelique Camacho, Matthew Erwin, Xavier Bond, Chris Davidson, Chris Fornal, professor Judith Sweeney O’Bryan
ADDYs 2016: Bobby Schindel, Kelsey Goessman, Sara Schork, Christopher Adams, Yanet Mireles, Melissa Mayhew, Jessi Knight, Noelle Grimes, Sean Walton
ADDYs 2016: Kelsey Goessman, Sara Schork, Yanet Mireles (holding Judge’s Choice Award), Melissa Mayhew

2016 Nashville Student ADDYs

Category: Packaging

Gold Award: Jessi Knight

Silver Award: Christopher Adams
“Say it”

Silver Award: Yanet Mireles
“Tea Society”

Category: Annual Report or Brochure

Silver Award: Jessi Knight
“The ABC’s of Astrobrights”

Category: Publication Design–Series

Gold Award: Christopher Adams
“A Series of Unfortunate Events”

Gold Award: Carolina De Alba Garza
“Mystery Trilogy”

Gold Award: Grace Pavlic
“Kate Dicamillo Series”

Silver Award: Kelsey Goessman
“H.P. Lovecraft”

Category: Book Design

Gold Award: Sara Schork
“Process Book”

Category: Magazine Advertising–Single (Full Page or Less)

Gold Award: Bobby Schindel
“Jack Daniel’s: Gentleman Jack”

Silver Award: Noelle Grimes
“New Belgium ‘When Pigs Fly’”

Category: Magazine Advertising–Campaign

Gold Award: Yanet Mireles
“Morton Salt Ad Campaign”

Silver Award: Lacy Frazier, Kelsey Goessman, Yanet Mireles, Sara Schork
“Thistle Farms”

Silver Award: Melissa Mayhew
“Schermerhorn Campaign”

Category: Poster Campaign

Gold Award: Sara Schork
“The Empowered Series”

Silver Award: Yanet Mireles
“National Anthropological Museum of Mexico”

Category: Logo Design

Gold Award and Judge’s Choice Award: Yanet Mireles
“Morton Salt Redesign”

Category: Illustration–Single

Gold Award: Sean Walton
“Osean the Spaceman”

Silver Award: Grace Pavlic
“Wolf’s Bane”

Graphis New Talent Annual

Kelsey Goessman: Category: Packaging: Silver Award

Jayden Harmse: Category: Packaging: Gold Award

Cameron Lucente: Category: Illustration: Merit Award

Cameron Lucente: Category: Illustration: Merit Award

Yanet Mireles: Packaging: Gold Award

Yanet Mireles: Packaging: Merit Award

Drew Nguyen: Category: Book Design: Merit Award

Drew Nguyen: Category: Illustration: Merit Award

Sara Schork: Category: Poster Design: Merit Award

Hannah Strobel (Fine Art major): Category: Illustration